College Board

The College is an Incorporated not-for-profit Association governed by the College Board, which is responsible to the Minister for Education for the educational achievements of its students.


The Board’s key responsibilities include:

• Strategic Planning
• Finance
• Legal Policy
• Appointing the Principal
• Convening of Sub-Task Teams

Members of the Board are appointed by the Eldership of Rockingham Baptist Church.

Pastor Steve Galambosi


Pastor Stephen Galambosi has been a pastor of Rockingham Baptist Church for 15 years. In that time, he has had leadership, governance and supervisor responsibilities within the scope of the church, the Baptist Union of WA, Vose, and the Rockingham Ministers Fellowship. Stephen is currently a Board Member of Tabor Bible College.

Mrs Christine Velebir

Board Member

Pastor Christine Velebir BA (Theol), Post Grad Cert (Business) has over 10 years experience in Management and Leadership roles both within the Church and Vocational Education and Training environments.

Mrs Michelle Horne

Board Member

Mrs Michelle Horne BA(Ed), Post Grad dip (Christian Education), has 16 years teaching experience and 5 years as Children's Ministry Co-ordinator at Thornlie Church of Christ. She has had a long association with South Coast Baptist College (20+ years) as a teacher, parent and now, Board Member. All three of her children attend SCBC.

Mr Matthew Robinson

Board Member

Mr Matthew Robinson (B Com) (CA) gained experience in the financial sector after graduating from Curtin University in 1997. He has worked as a public practice accountant and corporate accountant for national and international organisations. Matthew’s current role is with RSM Bird Cameron as a Business Advisor. He has also spent three years mentoring young people with addiction at a Christian rehabilitation centre. His son currently attends SCBC, and Matthew also serves on the Board of the Peel Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Mr Des Mitchell


Mr Des Mitchell [Principal: Ex Officio Board Member M.Ed.Man. (UWA), B.Ed., DipTeach] has 25 years' experience in Education, 24 years in leadership roles and 13 years as a Principal. He loves seeing young people thrive and is personally committed to life-long learning. After undergraduate tertiary qualifications, Mr Mitchell received a scholarship from UWA, completing a Master of Education Management. He has received academic awards from Notre Dame University and Murdoch University and is experienced as a Senior Lecturer in Education (Murdoch University), developing a Vocational focus on music. He has served on several boards, and is currently on the board of 98five SonshineFM. Mr Mitchell commenced as Principal of South Coast Baptist College in Term 4, 2010.

Mr Peter Campbell

Board Member

Mr Peter Campbell has been involved with Rockingham Baptist Church since 1989.  He has been an active leader and is at present an Elder on the RBC Board.  Peter has worked for BHP most of his working lift as an Electrical Construction Supervisor/Consultant.